Home > Foreign Correspondence, History, Solidarity Forever, The Fall of the West > New European Union foreign minister faces questions over pro-Soviet sympathies

New European Union foreign minister faces questions over pro-Soviet sympathies

As the Lisbon Treaty, ostensibly the new constitution of Europe, is put into place, the newly appointed foreign minister-a position with vastly more powers than any EU foreign policy body has had in the past-faces questions about possible connections to the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

Baroness Cathy Ashton, the newly appointed EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs was the treasurer of the  anti-nuke group the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament in the early 1980s. Members of the British Independence Party have sent a letter to EU Commission President, Manuel Barrosso, asking him to investigate whether Baroness Ashton ever was party to  payments from Moscow via the CND.

More here.

Also, for a comprehensive report of Soviet influence on the early 1980s anti-nuke movement, read here.

It is also  interesting that Ashton was chosen by the “inner machinations of the Brussels elite” after a “byzantine” process of leader selection. Interesting.

  1. December 14, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I just have to say this was doubtlessly one of the best posts I have view on the subject so far. I do not have any idea where you get all your data but I am impressed! I am going to send some individuals over here to read this. Awesome, totally awesome. I’m have just started getting into crafting articles myself, nothing close to your writing potential (ha!) but I’d love for you to check out my stuff someday! bowflex

    • Jason
      December 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Thanks for the compliments. Let me know where your blog is and I’ll link to it. As far as where I get my data: Some if it is just knowing what to look for in the news, and some is just life experience.

      Thanks. Keep reading. I appreciate the compliments as I am not getting paid to do this. It is really a labor of love.

      Jason

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

